Coinbase and Moov Bring Stablecoins to 1,000+ Community Banks

Coinbase is plugging its stablecoin payments and custody stack into Moov, a payments platform used by more than 1,000 US community banks and credit unions. Small lenders get crypto rails without building them, and the line between a bank transfer and an on-ramp gets thinner.

DATE
14 Sep, 2026

Short answer: Coinbase and payments infrastructure company Moov have partnered to give more than 1,000 US community banks and credit unions access to stablecoin payments, settlement and custody. The deal was announced on September 10, 2026 and was still leading crypto market recaps on September 14, 2026. Moov is embedding Coinbase Developer Platform custodial wallets and its Payments API into the systems these institutions already use, so a small bank can offer stablecoin acceptance and payouts without building its own crypto stack.

What happened

Moov runs payment infrastructure for smaller US financial institutions — the local banks and credit unions that serve households and small businesses rather than global corporations. Under the partnership, Moov integrates two Coinbase components into that platform: custodial wallet accounts from the Coinbase Developer Platform and the Coinbase Payments API. Institutions on Moov can then switch on stablecoin features inside tools they already run.

The features named in the announcement cover both sides of a payment:

  • Consumer payments — account holders paying with stablecoins.
  • Merchant acceptance and settlement — business customers receiving stablecoins and having them settled.
  • Payouts and real-time funding — moving money out quickly, including outside normal banking hours.
  • Custodial accounts — Coinbase holds the digital assets on behalf of the institution's business clients.

Coinbase vice chair Ryan VanGrack framed the goal as meeting local institutions "where they are". Moov co-founder Wade Arnold argued that businesses already accept stablecoins and can now do it through their main bank. Jill Castilla, CEO of Citizens Bank of Edmond in Oklahoma, pointed to small businesses looking for lower card interchange costs and faster settlement.

What the public announcement did not include matters too: none of the coverage specified which stablecoins or blockchains will be supported, and no date was given for when individual banks will go live.

Key facts at a glance

ItemDetail
PartnersCoinbase and Moov
AnnouncedSeptember 10, 2026
Potential reach1,000+ US community banks and credit unions on Moov's platform
Coinbase componentsDeveloper Platform custodial wallet accounts, Payments API
Use casesConsumer payments, merchant acceptance and settlement, payouts, real-time funding, custody
Supported stablecoins and chainsNot specified publicly
Launch timeline per bankNot specified publicly

Why does this matter for traditional banking?

Large banks can afford crypto teams. A community bank with a few branches cannot, and until now that meant stablecoin activity simply bypassed it: a customer who wanted dollars on a blockchain withdrew money to an exchange or a fintech app. Plugging stablecoin rails into an existing payments vendor changes the economics. The bank buys a feature instead of building a department.

The regulatory door was opened earlier. In March 2025 the Office of the Comptroller of the Currency confirmed that national banks and federal savings associations may engage in crypto custody, stablecoin reserve and payment activities, provided they manage the risks. The GENIUS Act of July 2025 then created a federal framework for payment stablecoin issuers. What was missing for small institutions was plumbing, and that is the gap Moov and Coinbase are targeting.

Big finance is moving in the same direction. A consortium of 21 global financial institutions, including Goldman Sachs, Bank of America, Citi and Deutsche Bank, has said it plans to launch a regulated dollar stablecoin in the first half of 2027, and U.S. Bancorp has tested cross-border stablecoin payments.

The deposit fight in the background

Not every community banker is enthusiastic. The Independent Community Bankers of America has pushed for a ban on stablecoin rewards, warning that money leaving bank accounts for yield-bearing stablecoin products could shrink deposits by an estimated $1.3 trillion and local lending by about $850 billion. That argument sits at the centre of the dispute over stablecoin rewards in the CLARITY Act, the US crypto market-structure bill that was scheduled for a Senate procedural vote on September 15. The Coinbase–Moov deal pitches a different answer to the same worry: instead of losing deposits to stablecoins, keep the stablecoin activity inside the bank relationship.

What it means for on-ramps and off-ramps

An on-ramp is any path from bank money to crypto; an off-ramp is the reverse. Today, for most people, both run through a crypto exchange or a card processor, with fees, limits and sometimes days of settlement delay at the bank end. If stablecoin payouts and acceptance become a normal bank feature, a business could receive stablecoins and have them settled through its own bank, and consumers could see a shorter route between a checking account and a dollar token.

Some realistic limits are worth keeping in mind:

  • It is custodial. Balances held through a bank integration sit with Coinbase as custodian, not in a wallet you control.
  • It is fully identified. Bank-grade onboarding means KYC and transaction monitoring on every flow.
  • It is US-only and gradual. The network is American community banks, each deciding if and when to switch features on.
  • Network details are open. Until supported stablecoins and chains are published, nobody can say which deposit networks will work.

Practical checklist if you move stablecoins

  1. Match the network every time. A stablecoin sent on the wrong chain can be lost or stuck. Confirm the network on both sides before sending — our guide to USDT network fees on TRC20, ERC20 and BEP20 explains why it matters.
  2. Expect compliance checks on bank-linked flows. Funds arriving from mixers or flagged addresses may be held. Checking a counterparty address first is cheap insurance: see how to check a USDT address for AML risk.
  3. Compare the full cost, not just the fee. A bank rail may be convenient, but the rate you receive when converting between assets is where most of the spread hides. The exchangers list shows what you actually get for a swap.
  4. Keep long-term holdings in self-custody if that is your plan. Bank-integrated stablecoin accounts are built for payments, not for holding your own keys.
  5. Do not act on rumours of launch dates. No bank-by-bank timeline has been announced, so offers claiming early access are a classic scam hook.

FAQ

What did Coinbase and Moov announce?

A partnership announced on September 10, 2026 under which Moov integrates Coinbase Developer Platform custodial wallets and the Coinbase Payments API into its payments platform, letting more than 1,000 US community banks and credit unions offer stablecoin payments, settlement, payouts and custody.

Which stablecoins will community banks support?

The announcement and the reporting around it did not name specific stablecoins or blockchains. Those details, and launch dates for individual institutions, had not been made public.

Can I use my local bank to buy stablecoins now?

Only if your bank uses Moov and chooses to enable the features. The partnership creates the capability; each institution decides whether and when to offer it.

Why are some community bankers worried about stablecoins?

The Independent Community Bankers of America warns that stablecoin rewards could pull deposits out of banks, estimating a possible drop of around $1.3 trillion in deposits and about $850 billion in local lending, and has called for a ban on such rewards.

Is a bank-held stablecoin the same as holding it in my own wallet?

No. Through this integration the assets are held by a custodian on your behalf. In a self-custody wallet you control the private keys yourself, with the responsibility that comes with it.

Sources